fbpx The Meantime - Voorlinden

The Meantime

1 April - 3 December 2017

We are living in an age of acceleration. Never before have we had so much time on our hands, and yet never before have we felt so rushed. Museum Voorlinden is taking a break. The exhibition The Meantime invites the visitor to relax between 43 works of art from different periods, styles and movements. Together they give a new, fresh look at the extensive and varied collection of Voorlinden.


Until the end of the Middle Ages, people lived according to nature’s rhythm, which was determined by the sun and moon. Until the introduction of timekeeping, that is: an artificial system for measuring the hours and minutes. It is a system that fundamentally altered our experience of time. Rather than our personal or natural rhythms, the clock dictates our lives.

In direct contrast to linear timekeeping, non-quantifiable inner time also exists. This is where those moments occur when you have lost track of time, when you can daydream, when you are open to the unexpected. Only in this particular state of being – the meantime, when one simply is – can one find space for creativity. The meantime gives rise to the new.


Artists, in particular, tend to seek out this elusive meantime. Which might why they have such an apparent and enduring fascination with the phenomenon. This exhibition is a voyage of discovery past artworks that prompt viewers to experience this ‘emotional time’ for themselves. Visitors are invited to slow their pace, to come to a standstill, and – if only for moment – to forget about the clock.

Philosopher Joke Hermsen wrote extensively on this theme, among others in her publication Stil de Tijd. Pleidooi voor een langzame toekomst (De Arbeiderspers, 2009). This book has partly been an inspiration for this exhibition.

The Meantime shows work by Arturo Hernández Alcázar (1978), Song-Ming Ang (1980), Massimo Bartolini (1962), Joseph Beuys (1921-1986), Marinus Boezem (1934), Marcel Broodthaers (1924-1976), Louise Bourgeois (1911-2010), Ad Dekkers (1938-1974), Edith Dekyndt (1960), Latifa Echakhch (1974), Olafur Eliasson (1967), Michel François (1956), Leo Gestel (1881-1941), Gerhard von Graevenitz (1934-1983), Mona Hatoum (1952), Roger Hiorns (1975), Damien Hirst (1965), Gayle Janzow, Zhanna Kadyrova (1981), Anselm Kiefer (1945), Susan Kinoshita (1960), Pyke Koch (1901-1991), Helena van der Kraan (1940), Yayoi Kusama (1929), Gonzalo Lebrija (1972), Oscar Lourens (1973), Tim Mathijsen (1987), Tony Matelli (1971), Sabrina Mezzaqui (1964), Giorgio Morandi (1890-1964), NEOC (1956-2010), Michelangelo Pistoletto (1933), Oscar Santillan (1980), Jan Schoonhoven (1914-1994), Rosemarie Trockel (1952), Gavin Turk (1967), Günther Uecker (1930), herman de vries (1931), José Yaque (1985), Robert Zandvliet (1970) and Remy Zaugg (1943-2005).